Federal Skilled Workers

Skilled Workers are selected as permanent residents based on their ability to become economically established in Canada. If interested in applying for the Federal Skilled Worker Program, an applicant must first complete an online Express Entry profile and meet the criteria to enter the pool of candidates.

The Express Entry System is used to manage the following programs:

  • Federal Skilled Worker Program
  • Federal Skilled Trades Program
  • Canadian Experience Class
  • a portion of the Provincial Nominee Program

Basic eligibility: To qualify for the Federal Skilled Workers Program, candidates must:

  • Have one year of continuous full time (or an equal amount of continuous part-time) qualifying skilled work experience in the last ten years;
  • Achieve the Canadian minimum language threshold on an official language test;
  • Have a Canadian secondary or post-secondary certificate, diploma or degree, or an Educational Credential Assessment (ECA) report indicating that the foreign education is equivalent to a Canadian one;
  • Obtain a pass mark of 67 out of 100 on the selection grid; and
  • Have enough funds to settle in Canada.

When IRCC assesses an application for FSWP, a grid of 100 points is used to assess how well an applicant can adapt to Canada’s labour market. The six selection factors are as follows:

  • English and/or French skills
  • Education
  • Work experience
  • Age
  • Arranged employment, and
  • Adaptability

Contact Us

Important Immigration Court Decisions

What Our Clients Are Saying

[google-reviews-pro place_photo=https://lh3.googleusercontent.com/p/AF1QipOYbkE8wKL5qSgyEeB9YUdxi2fr4qjHCiKVwTnP=s1600-w300-h300 place_name=”Bellissimo Law Group” place_id=ChIJIWRzuDwzK4gRE0Teon_9Cm4 auto_load=true rating_snippet=true disable_user_link=true view_mode=slider slider_speed=5 slider_count=2 open_link=true hide_float_badge=true lazy_load_img=true]