December 10, 2012

Certain Foreign Nationals Will Be Required To Provide Biometrics Starting 2013!

Posted by admin - Bellissimo Law Group PC

Starting in 2013, twenty-nine countries and one territory will need to provide biometrics to come to Canada to visit, study or work. “Biometrics has proven to be one of the most effective ways to identify individuals entering the country” Said Minister  Jason Kenny. “By providing immigration officials with greater certainty, biometrics will facilitate legitimate travel to Canada.

Persons from the following countries and territory who apply for a visitor visa, study permit or work permit will be required to provide their fingerprints and photographs at the time of applications:

Afghanistan Albania, Algeria, Bangladesh, Burma (Myanmar), Cambodia, Colombia, Democratic Republic of Congo, Egypt, Eritrea, Haiti, Iran, Iraq, Jamaica, Jordan, Laos, Lebanon, Libya, Nigeria, Pakistan, Palestinian Authority, Saudi Arabia, Somalia, Sri Lanka, Sudan, South Sudan, Syria, Tunisia, Vietnam, and Yemen.

Once an individual arrives in Canada, their biometrics data will be checked to ensure that the individual who was approved to travel is in fact the same person who is entering Canada.

Canadian citizens and permanent residents will not have to submit biometrics to enter the country. Minors under the age of 14, the elderly over the age of 79, and diplomats travelling on official business and their family members will also be exempt.

Learn more about visitor visas, work permits and study permits!